Plug and AI vs ChatGPT for Slack

The Best ChatGPT for Slack AlternativePay Per Use, Not Per Seat

OpenAI's @ChatGPT for Slack needs a ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspace. Plug and AI gives you GPT-6.1 Sol + Claude + Gemini + 300 models — all in Slack, no ChatGPT plan. Pay only for what your team uses.

Includes $1.00 free credit · Works on free Slack plans

Prefer the web version (no Slack workspace needed)? PLAI.chat — ChatGPT alternative on the web →

At a glance
ChatGPT planno ChatGPT plan needed
none
Fixed monthly costusage-based rates on top
$0
Per-seat feesone shared workspace balance
none
ModelsGPT, Claude, Gemini and more
300+
Free creditno credit card required
$1.00
Slack plansworks on free Slack plans
incl. free

How Plug and AI Works

Plug and AI is a multi-model Slack app. It routes your prompts to providers like OpenAI, Anthropic, and Google — giving you access to the best AI from every provider, right where your team already works.

  • Pick a model for each question — switch mid-conversation anytime
  • Pay per use at usage-based rates (details on the pricing page)
  • Works on free Slack plans with @mentions, DMs, /ai commands, and more
  • $1.00 free credit included — no credit card required to start

Why Teams Are Switching from ChatGPT for Slack

ChatGPT for Slack is the official OpenAI integration (@ChatGPT). It's capable, but it locks your team into one provider and a paid ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspace. Here's why teams are making the switch.

A Paid ChatGPT Workspace Comes First

As of October 2026, OpenAI's @ChatGPT answers in Slack channels through a service account, and teammates in enabled channels can use it without their own ChatGPT seat, unless an admin requires account connection (OpenAI help). But it is only available to organizations on ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise (setup guide). ChatGPT Business needs at least 2 paid seats at $20/user/month billed annually or $25 monthly, an admin setup in the OpenAI admin console, and @ChatGPT usage runs under a spend cap your admin sets.

Plug and AI: no ChatGPT plan needed — $0 fixed cost + pay only for what your team actually uses, at usage-based rates (details on the pricing page). Costs scale with usage rather than seats.

GPT Models Only

ChatGPT for Slack only gives you access to GPT models. But sometimes Claude is better for analysis, Gemini for search-grounded answers, or DeepSeek for coding. No single model is best at everything.

Plug and AI: Access 300+ models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, DeepSeek, Meta, Mistral, and more — all from one Slack app. Pick the right model per task, right in the message:

  • @ai gpt-5 Write a sales email for this prospect
  • @ai claude Review this contract and flag risks
  • @ai gemini Search for the latest on our competitor
  • @ai free Summarize #general from this week
  • @ai image A product mockup for our landing page

One Workspace, One Bill

OpenAI's @ChatGPT runs through a service account, and its usage is attributed to that account within your ChatGPT workspace plan. In enabled channels, people can make requests without connecting their own ChatGPT account, unless an admin requires account connection — but your organization still pays for a ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspace.

Plug and AI: One shared workspace balance covers everyone. Top up once via Stripe. No per-user accounts, no separate subscriptions, no billing headaches.

Plug and AI vs ChatGPT for Slack — Feature Comparison

FeaturePlug and AIChatGPT for Slack
AI Models Available300+ (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, etc.)GPT models only
Pricing ModelPay per use ($0/month fixed)ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspace
Free Slack Plan SupportYesNot stated
Signup/Subscription RequiredNo subscriptionSubscription required for full access
Per-Seat FeesNoneWorkspace seats (2+ on Business)
Image GenerationYesNot listed
Vision / Image AnalysisYesLimited
Model SwitchingSwitch mid-conversationGPT only
Channel summarizationFree with open-source modelsYes (Business+ plan)
Thread SummarizationYesYes
Web SearchSearch-enabled modelsLimited
Slack Message SearchYes (where Slack's search API is enabled)Semantic search (Business+ only)
Multiple Providers in One ChatYesOpenAI only

What You Get with Plug and AI

300+ AI Models

GPT-6.1 Sol, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Grok, DeepSeek, Llama, Mistral, and hundreds more. Always access the latest and best models.

Pay Per Use

$0/month fixed cost. Pay per use at usage-based rates (details on the pricing page). No per-seat fees; free models cost $0.

Works on Free Slack Plans

No paid Slack plan required. Use @mentions, DMs, /ai commands, thread conversations, and more on any Slack plan including free.

Free Channel Summarization

Summarize any channel or thread with a single prompt — free with open-source models. Just ask: @ai summarize #product from last 2 weeks.

Image Generation & Vision

Generate images with Nano Banana 2, analyze screenshots and charts — all inside Slack.

Unified Workspace Billing

One shared balance covers your entire team. Top up once via Stripe. No individual subscriptions or reimbursement headaches.

Switch Models Mid-Conversation

Start with GPT-6.1 Sol, get a second opinion from Claude, verify with Gemini — all in the same Slack thread. Just mention the model name.

Pricing: Plug and AI vs ChatGPT for Slack

$0/monthpay per use · works on free Slack plans
Plug and AIChatGPT for Slack
Monthly Fixed Cost$0ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise plan (Business: 2+ seats)
Team CostVaries by usageWorkspace seats + @ChatGPT usage under an admin spend cap
Slack Plan RequiredFree plan worksNot stated
CommitmentNone — cancel anytimeChatGPT workspace subscription

See full pricing →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Plug and AI a good alternative to ChatGPT for Slack?

Yes. Plug and AI gives you access to GPT-6.1 Sol plus 300+ other models including Claude, Gemini, and DeepSeek — all directly in Slack. There are no per-seat fees, unlike ChatGPT for Slack, and Plug and AI works on free Slack plans. You pay only for what your team uses, starting with $1.00 free credit.

Does Plug and AI have GPT-6.1 Sol in Slack?

Yes. Plug and AI provides access to GPT-6.1 Sol and all major OpenAI models directly in Slack, plus 300+ models from Anthropic (Claude), Google (Gemini), DeepSeek, Meta (Llama), Mistral, and other providers. You can switch models mid-conversation by mentioning the model name. Prefer a browser tab over Slack? Our sister product PLAI.chat is a multi-model ChatGPT alternative with the same model catalog.

How much does Plug and AI cost vs ChatGPT for Slack?

OpenAI's @ChatGPT for Slack needs a ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspace. ChatGPT Business starts at 2 users at $20/user/month billed annually or $25 billed monthly (as of October 2026). Teammates in enabled channels can use @ChatGPT without their own ChatGPT seat, unless an admin requires account connection, but its usage is attributed to a service account and capped by an admin spend limit within the workspace plan. Plug and AI needs no ChatGPT plan: $0/month fixed cost and no per-seat fees — you pay usage-based rates (details on the pricing page) for what your team actually uses; free models cost $0.

Does Plug and AI work on free Slack plans?

Yes. Most Plug and AI features work on all Slack plans including free: @mentions, direct messages, /ai commands, thread conversations, image generation, and image analysis.

Can I use ChatGPT and Claude in the same Slack workspace?

Yes. With Plug and AI you can use GPT-6.1 Sol, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro, and 300+ other models in the same Slack workspace and even the same thread. Just mention the model name in your message to switch. No separate apps or subscriptions needed. For a side-by-side view of how each model stacks up, see our best AI chatbots ranking.

Can Plug and AI summarize Slack channels?

Yes. Just ask naturally: @ai summarize #marketing from last month or @ai what was decided in #product this week?. This works with free open-source models at zero cost. ChatGPT for Slack has channel summarization on Business+ plans — Plug and AI does it for free.

How do I switch from ChatGPT for Slack to Plug and AI?

Simply click "Add to Slack" on this page and authorize Plug and AI in your workspace. It installs in under a minute. You'll get $1.00 free credit to try it out. Your team can start using it immediately via @mentions, DMs, or /ai commands — no individual accounts or subscriptions needed.

How Plug and AI Compares to Other Slack AI Apps

Plug and AIChatGPTClaudePerplexityManus
Models300+GPT onlyClaude onlyPerplexity-selected modelsManus agent
PricingPay per useChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise workspaceTeam/Ent + usagePer-seat subscriptionFrom $20/seat/mo (Team)
Free Slack PlanNot statedNot statedNot stated
Per-Seat FeesNoneYesNo (org usage billing)YesYes
Image GenerationNot listed

See detailed comparisons: Plug and AI vs Claude for Slack · Plug and AI vs Perplexity for Slack

Ready to Stop Paying Per Seat?

300+ models. $0/month. Works on free Slack plans.

Includes $1.00 free credit · No credit card required